Life of an Indian Teenager

Being a teenager is not an easy job. People just don’t get it. They think that, what we all teens do is just hang around, go to college and have fun. Especially our parents, they think that we don’t do anything and get everything we want.

A teenager, an “Indian Teenager” has to go through a lot of things. Where-ever we go, all that people ask is How’s your studies going on? How much did you get in 10th/12th? What’s your plan for the future? and blah blah blah. It’s the last thing which we wanna discuss about. If someone close to us is asking about it then it’s okay. But, sometimes even that gets a bit irritating. I’am saying this coz, I get really pissed off when someone ask me about my studies and my plans for future. I’am like, this isn’t any of your business so just stay out of it. It’s my look out and I’ll do whatever I feel like doing.

Every parent wants their child to shine….who doesn’t?!?!? But not every kid is the same. Not everyone can become a doctor, engineer or a lawyer. Not everyone can be good in studies. Some are average and some may be below avergae. I’am not upset for being an average student. I’am sad that my parents don’t see beyond studies. They even compare us with other kids. Education is important, “one of the” most important thing but it’s not “the most” important thing. What happens if I don’t turn out to be a successful person….it’ll be because of my choices, my decisions. I don’t mind being broke as long as I’am getting to do whatever I want to. For instance, I love singing and I think I’am not terrible at it. I sing for my friends and they like it. FYI I don’t sing  bollywood songs. But when I ask my parents to listen, they’ll say don’t you have anything to do, go open your book. Sometimes they even say I don’t get your english songs. Before this thing used to hurt me a lot. Now I don’t care.

This is not it. We have to go through the peer-pressure. All of us wants to be cool, popular. Everyone wants to get noticed. If you go to college, people will judge you on the basis of clothes, style, accent, etc There are hardly handful of people who notices one’s inner beauty. It’s like whatever we want to do, we first think what would others think of us if I do this. We have to go through all that and come home, listen to our parents lecture for hours. Then there is the Exam Tension.

Published by

Aishwarya

Just an ordinary teenager with extraordinary dreams

Leave a Reply

